Professor Aparna Dharwadker wins Callaway Prize

Professor Aparna Dharwadker has won the Callaway Prize for A Poetics of Modernity: Indian Theater Theory, 1850 to the Present. The Callaway Prize is awarded every two years by NYU’s Department of English, for the best book on drama or theater published during the previous two years by an American author. The prize committee found that A Poetics of Modernity assembles and makes accessible, to readers of English, a multi-lingual archive vital to understanding the rich history of modern Indian theory. Dharwadker’s lucid and extensive introduction provides a crystalline outline of the volume’s methodological principles and historical aims. Professor Dharwadker previously received this award in 2006 for Theatres of Independence, making her the only two-time winner of the prize.

Congratulations to Professor Dharwadker!