English Majors Reception & Awards Ceremony | Sunday, May 5

The English Department will be celebrating our graduating seniors, as well as writing prize, digital media project, and scholarship winners, at a reception on Sunday, May 5th from 4:30 – 6:30 PM in the Alumni Room in the Pyle Center. The reception is free for students and will include appetizers and a cash bar. The schedule of events is:

  • 4:30 – 5:00 PM | Presentation of Awards
  • 5:00 – 5:30 PM | Presentation of Distinguished Alumni Award
  • 5:30 – 6:30 PM | Cocktail hour for students and faculty

The event will also feature remarks from distinguished alumnus Dr. Daniel Socolow. Dr. Socolow, who received his B.A. in English from UW-Madison, served as the Director of the MacArthur Fellows Program from 1997-2011. He has also served as president of the Socolow Group, senior adviser and director of programs at the Jimmy Carter Presidential Center, president of the American University of Paris, and vice-president of Spelman College in Atlanta.

We hope that many of our students will come and receive the recognition they deserve. The Alumni Room faces the lake and has a lovely outdoor patio, and many of your teachers will also be there to say congratulations and to wish you well if you are graduating. We hope that the setting, the celebration, and the sense of community will give you a fond and lasting memory of your time in the English Department at UW-Madison.

Please RSVP by Sunday, April 28 with the number of attendees (including students and any family or friends) by Sunday, April 28 to reception@english.wisc.edu

List of Scholarship Winners

Helen C. White Scholarship
Kristen Prewitt

Dorothy Classen Urish Scholarship
Melissa Martin

Lila Hick Furber Scholarship
Eric Lucari

English Undergraduate Scholarship
Sara Schumacher

Helen Black Bennet Scholarship
Joseph Borgwardt

James T. Lewis Scholarship
Elizabeth Delaquess

Mary Brabyn Wackman Scholarship
Lika Balenovich
Ben Elmakias
Liam Kane-Grade
Grace O’Meara
Kelly Stretz
Hannah Weinberg-Kinsey
Katherina Wierschke

Vivian Mowry English Scholarship
Nora Brand
Eric Lynne
Meghan Roegge

Writing Prize Winners

Chesler Prize for Writing
Hannah Weinberg-Kinsey

James T. Lewis Prize
Heikel Badrulhisham
Adelina Yankova

Standish Henning Shakespeare Prize
Peter Clancy

William F. Vilas Prize
Kristin Prewitt
Lika Balenovich

Outstanding Digital Media Project
Deidre Stuffer (Graduate)
David Zhang (Undergraduate)

International Student Writing Awards
Alana Khea Yashadhana (1st place)
Congyu Wang (2nd place)
Xin Wen (Honorable mention)
Jing Xie (Honorable mention)

English 100 Student Writing Awards

Critical Writing
Brielle James (winner)
Ian Zangs (runner-up)

Explanatory Writing
Libby Degregorio (winner)
Matt Prell (runner-up)

Narrative Writing
Toni Ramadani (winner)
Talen Elizabeth Mumford (runner-up)