Devil's Lake

The Driftless Prizes

We’re pleased to announce the winners of the 2016 Driftless Prize! Poetry judge Eduardo Corral has selected “Speculative Folklore of a Great-Great” by Julie Henson as the winner of the 2016 Driftless Prize in Poetry. Fiction judge Kirstin Valdez Quade has selected “Community” by Cynthia Robinson as the winner of the 2016 Driftless Prize in Fiction. Congratulations!

We’d also like to extend our sincerest congratulations to our finalists in each genre.

Poetry finalists:

Fiction finalists:

2016 Judges

Eduardo C. Corral (Poetry) is the author of Slow Lightning (Yale University Press, 2012), which was chosen by Carl Phillips as the 2011 winner of the Yale Series of Younger Poets. He is the recipient of a “Discovery”/The Nation Award, the J. Howard and Barbara M. J. Wood Prize from Poetry, a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, and a Whiting Writers’ Award. He lives in New York.

Kirstin Valdez Quade (Fiction) is the author of Night at the Fiestas, which received the John Leonard Prize from the National Book Critics Circle, the Sue Kaufman Prize for First Fiction from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and a “5 Under 35” award from the National Book Foundation. It was a New York Times Notable Book, and was named a best book of 2015 by the San Francisco Chronicle and the American Library Association. Kirstin is the recipient of the Rona Jaffe Foundation Writer’s Award and the 2013 Narrative Prize. Her work has appeared in The New Yorker, Narrative, Guernica, The Southern Review, The Best American Short Stories, The O. Henry Prize Stories, and elsewhere. She has received fellowships from Yaddo, the MacDowell Colony, Hedgebrook, and Willapa Bay AiR, as well as a grant from the Elizabeth George Foundation. She was a Wallace Stegner Fellow at Stanford University, where she also taught as a Jones Lecturer. She’s been on the faculty in the M.F.A. programs at University of Michigan and Warren Wilson. She is an assistant professor at Princeton University.

Recent Winners

In fiction:
Caitlin Fitzpatrick, “Make This Tame” (selected by NoViolet Bulawyo)

In poetry:
Lindsey Alexander, “Sleepless in Indiana, I Contemplate the Age-Old Arts” (selected by Bruce Snider)



The following people are ineligible for entry:

Submit Poetry Submit Fiction